Church Council Minutes

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Tom Van Bruggen called to order the Church Council of Calvary Lutheran Church at 5:30 pm on 3/12/2019.  
DEVOTIONS: Harry Wenner
The following members were present: Pastor Steve Norby, Pastor Justin Fenger, Tom Van Bruggen, Wayne Pearson, Glenn Anderson, Jamie Linkowitz, Linda Becker, Kami Johnson, John Cook, Dave Simmons, Dana Kocka, Harry Wenner, Stuart Larson, Mark Harmon, Sonda Tolle.
Guests: Judy Dulski.
Agenda, M/S/P as printed. 1st Linda, 2nd Jamie. Secretary Minutes, M/S/P. 1st Glenn, 2nd Linda. Treasure Report and Financial Secretary Report, M/S/P to approve as presented. 1st John 2nd Mark.
Judy Dulski presented the Worship Core Action Plan using this action plan to explain the process to the council. Each core needs to develop a strategy, goal, metrics and an action plan. The Compass group may be used to assist each core in the process. Judy also presented a list of action items and Mutual Ministry recommendations. Need to review Mutual Ministry and the constitutional guidelines, will place on the next Executive Committee agenda.
Capital Items and Budgeting-each core to review the Resource List for Repair and Replacement. Identify what is important and a priority for your core. Also discussed the importance of a Capital Expense Account, will need to determine how much should be in this account and what this account is used for.
Quarterly Newsletter Changes-Motion to proceed with a quarterly newsletter. 1st Mark, 2nd Jamie. Discussion included concern about eliminating the monthly newsletter, what about the monthly calendar? Need a communication plan and how to transition the congregation to a mobile platform. The quarterly newsletter would tell the story of Calvary and have a magazine look. Mark withdrew his motion.
Church Data Management (CDM)-Motion to proceed with CDM to back up our church data at 42.95 per month. 1st Stuart, 2nd John. Passed.
Caring and Outreach-Dave Simmons presented their action plan.
Family Ministry-Jamie Linkowitz- Discussed action plan highlighting the following; hygiene kits, Suds of Service, and 2 planned intergenerational activities; Bingo and Talent Show.
Finance Ministry-Harry Wenner-transferred monies from a designated fund to general fund to use for immediate smaller repairs. Will delay paying off the special assessment to ensure that we can make our regular monthly mortgage payments.
Learning Ministry-Linda Becker-Bible Study opportunities are available for all ages. 5th grade first communion is also being offered to the children that attend our release time, a letter will be sent to the families of these children. Planning Palm Sunday Processional and teacher appreciation. Dana reported that their action plan focuses on creating relationships.
Resources Ministry-all core groups see Resource List for Repair and Replacement.
Worship Ministry-John Cook-The organ needs repair, will explore options and bring to council a recommendation. Also exploring keyboard options and bids.
Youth Ministry-Dana Kocka-at their next core meeting they will focus on the development of their action plan.
No Announcements
Tom Van Bruggen adjourned the meeting at 6:50 pm. Motion to adjourn. 1st Mark, 2nd Harry Followed by the Lord’s Prayer.
Minutes submitted by:
Sonda Tolle



Calvary Council Members

Thomas Van Bruggen, President 612-850-7085 
Stuart Larson, President Elect 701-430-7466
Mark Harmon, Past President 317-796-8529
David Simmons, Caring & Outreach 218-255-1522
Glenn Anderson, Caring & Outreach 218-699-3962 Jamie Linkowitz, Family Ministry 612-715-2541
Kami Johnson, Family Ministry 218-237-8812
Harry Wenner, Finance 218-564-5002
Linda Becker, Learning 218-573-2207
Tony Kohrs, Resource 218-732-8293
John Cook, Worship 218-232-5705
Jennifer Michaelson, Youth 218-616-2787
Julie Warmbold, Financial Secretary 218-237-1116 Sonda Tolle, Secretary 218-252-4318
Wayne Pearson, Treasurer 651-206-3673

Annual Reports:

Annual Report 18′

’17 Annual Report